Recently, I have been listening to the dramatized version of  “Screwtape Letters” produced by Focus on the Family.  There is one scene that hit me and seems to play in my head over and over again. Screwtape is encouraging Wormword to keep his patient thinking of either the past or the future but never the present. The present is the only point the patient can be in contact with the eternal. Screwtape directs Wormword to tempt his patient to think of the future and all the hypothetical possibilities he may face; in this the patient will attempt to stand up under pressure from events which will probably never happen. Screwtape makes it clear that the present is the most dangerous place for the patient to settle his thoughts because there he connects to God.

I have been seeking daily to live in the present and enjoy the day God has given me…whether it be filled with laughter of children, crying of children, smiles around the office, frowns around the office, hard work or leisure. Whatever the day may bring I am seeking to live in the present because it is the only place I can connect to all the resources God has given me to thrive in the world. There are lots of challenges to living this way; everything is pointing us to tomorrow or next week or next year. As I practice daily living I am filled with an overwhelming sense of Christ. Christ meets me in my daily need and daily anxiety…and promises to be with me if tomorrow should ever come.

If I am ever to be a person who is fully selfless and loving my neighbors it will be because I have died to ‘tomorrow’ and live fully in the present with the Christ. I can only love with the love of Christ and he gives me his daily manna of love to share with Mari, Madi, Ava, Claire, Adler, and you.